Visas and permits - Malta

  Guides & Articles

Getting an ID Card

You can obtain a Maltese ID card if you are a Maltese national, an EU citizen, or a non-EU citizen holding a Maltese residence permit, working permit, or freedom of movement permit. Information on how to get (and renew) your ID card is provided in our article.

Read More

A Visa for Malta

Malta is a Schengen Member State and EU/EEA nationals do not require a visa to enter Malta. Non-EU/EEA nationals require a visa to enter Malta (visas are valid for a maximum of 90 days). Non-EU/EEA nationals cannot stay in Malta longer than 90 days in any 180 day period.

Read More

Residence Permits: Non EU or Third Country Nationals

Residence permits are issued by the Department for Citizenship and Expatriate Affairs. This office is located in the Castille Place building, between Upper Barrakka Gardens and the Auberge de Castille, in Valletta. Go early in the day as the office is only open 830hrs/8:30am to 1130hrs/11:30am and lineups/queues can be long.

Read More

Residence for EU and EEA Nationals

EEA nationals do not require a residence permit to reside in Malta. EEA nationals (EU nationals and nationals of Norway, Iceland and Lichtenstein) have the right to reside in Malta if they are exercising their Treaty rights as workers, self-employed persons, economically self-sufficient persons, or students.

Read More

Political System in Malta

Malta has two levels of government: central (House of Representatives) and municipal (local councils). Malta has 68 local councils – 54 in Malta and 14 in Gozo.

Read More